A Tribute to Ingrid

I am Madonna Daehlie, and I’d like to share with you why I Relay.

I Relay because nothing in this world is more important than love. Each one of us has a person we love more than anyone else, or anything, in this world. They mean more to us than anything, and our world is so much better because they’re part of it. I Relay so that, someday soon, all of our loved ones will never have to battle cancer, or be taken by this horrible disease.

On August 9, 2008, a beautiful and amazing woman named Ingrid lost her battle with cancer. Even though she is no longer with us, I still love her with all of my heart. The name “Ingrid” means “Beautiful Goddess”, and she truly was, and always will be, my “Beautiful Goddess”. This world is not the same without her in it, and not a moment goes by without me missing her greatly.

Ingrid3a

I Relay in her memory, so that I may carry her flag and show she will never be forgotten.

I Relay because cancer not only hurts the people fighting this terrible disease, but the people who love them.
I Relay to fight back against the disease that took away such beauty from our world.
Along with Relaying for my own Ingrid, I also Relay for everyone’s “Ingrid”, so that someday, nobody will lose the person they love and cherish more than anything to cancer.

Together, may we make this world one without cancer, for all the ones we love.

Madonna Daehlie, reminding you, to help give cancer the boot… Please continue to support Relay For Life!

Relay For Hope 2009-2011
2011-2012 Co Captain Relay For Hope
2013 Coach

Leave a Reply

